Instagram Isn’t for Everyone, But It Can Be

instagram-icon-2016z

Contrary to popular belief, everyone isn’t crazy about Instagram. I am one of those people. I have an account, but I don’t use it very much.

I am always a little embarrassed when someone asks me what’s my Instagram or tells me to follow them. I am then forced to explain that I don’t use the app very much and that I don’t have many followers. My 12-year-old little sister has more followers than me.

 

Instagram has become a staple in pop culture and it is time for me to follow the trend. Being that I am an Aquarius, I am naturally rebellious and I would much rather refrain from using the app. I can do without seeing twerk videos, obnoxious Lomotif videos of couples, and celebrity gossip.

However, the app has become a vital part of everyday life. Even employers ask for your Instagram these days.

My failure to use Instagram properly is the main reason why my account hasn’t been very successful.

TIME.com stock photos

There are a few simple things you can do to increase your amount of followers on Instagram. Firstly, you need to build your feed. Make sure that your profile is public and build relevant content on your feed. Your profile should be a reflection of your interests and you should follow your intended audience.

Also, don’t shy away from posting videos. Videos can give your followers a perspective they can’t get from a picture.

Secondly, you should get your posts noticed. You can do this by using hashtags and geotags that are relevant to your post. Make sure not to overdo the usage of hashtags. It makes your post quite tacky.

Lastly, be sure to engage with your followers. This is probably the most important thing to do not just on Instagram, but on every social media platform. The whole point of social media is to be social. Post regularly so that your followers don’t forget about your feed and respond to comments that are left on your post.

I don’t do any of these things and that explains why I only have 350 followers. I don’t post much and I definitely don’t follow people. I thought that if people were interested they would follow me on their own. This is not the case.

Being active is the only way you will be successful on Instagram.

 

Leave a Reply

