Nothing to It But to Do It

ts-night-photography

Telling people that I study multimedia reporting sounds very impressive. But in reality, photography and video production can be quite intimidating to beginners. Just about anyone can effectively work a camera these days. However, I still used to think that in order for my photographs or videos to be attractive, I would need to know how to shoot them perfectly. All of the different settings and controls that exist on a camera can be very confusing. Chapter 7 in the text makes shooting high quality photos and videos seem very achievable.

There are really only a few basic concepts that you need to know in order to produce great digital media. I used to be very interested in cameras when I was younger. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the patience to read manuals. I would just figure out how to do the basics on my own and never took the time to learn about what else I could do with the camera. This chapter made me realize that I really don’t need to know how to do all these things to be successful. Eventually I do want to learn more about cameras but it’s comforting to know that it’s not a requirement while getting started. It’s definitely time to get my feet wet now that I’m a senior in college.

I like how the chapter addressed what to do during all of the different stages of media production. The chapter started off with what to do before shooting and ended with how to upload the clips when you’re done. The middle focused on what you should do while you are shooting. This chronological explanation was very helpful and thorough.

I found it interesting that storyboarding was one of the things Briggs said you should do before shooting. This is something that I do before I write a paper. I will write out my main ideas and write corresponding notes that I could expand on later. This helps me organize my thoughts much better. You would not think that you would need to do the same thing before taking pictures to go along with your story. However, this does make sense. You should think about how you want your story to be presented beforehand to be sure it enhances your writing. I might not be able to take the best picture, but I could be aware of what I wanted to capture and edit it later.

I also found the connections between digital journalism and film to be quite interesting. I had already learned most of the terms and concepts in this chapter in a film class I already took. In my film esthetics class we learned about how important it is to mix your shots. This makes the film a lot more interesting. The same applies when you’re shooting a video for your story. The goal is to make it as interesting as possible. Film directors and journalists are basically do the same thing. However, journalists do so on a much simpler scale.

Even if you hadn’t taken film classes, the chapter was very straight forward and easy to understand. I also like how the chapter discussed the different equipment used for digital media production. If my mind went blank in the middle of a story, I could grab this book and figure out what to do. Overall the chapter does a great job of breaking down the basic concepts. Shooting photos and video doesn’t seem so frightening to me now. It is a skill I must develop in order to be a successful journalist. I can practice and use my new knowledge to get better and better.

Leave a Reply

